Createur en Mouvement
A Danse Danse Project

Danse Danse established the Createur en Mouvement program to support the development of new contemporary dance pieces. The program’s web platform provides a public showcase for the participating artists.

Through Createur en Mouvement, Danse Danse invites the public to take a sneak peek at the research and creative process, follow the evolution of a dance piece in real time, and experience a different side of dance.

Creator in the Spotlight
Virginie Brunelle

The artist selected for the 2017–18 edition of Créateur en Mouvement is rising young Montreal choreographer Virginie Brunelle. Virginie will choreograph a work for Gauthier Dance//Dance Company Theaterhaus Stuttgart, based in Stuttgart, Germany, and directed by Quebec dancer and choreographer Eric Gauthier.

It’s a double first for Virginie: first work presented in the Théâtre Maisonneuve at Place des Arts, and first commissioned work—and by an international company at that!

The work will be performed as part of a mixed program of several pieces, by renowned international choreographers. It will have its world premiere at the Theaterhaus Stuttgart on July 13, 2018, and its Canadian premiere (presented by Danse Danse) in Montreal on October 31, 2018. As well, Quebec, Canadian and international tours are in the works.

Through the Créateur en Mouvement platform, you can follow the development of this new work from its earliest stages to its Canadian tour. Discover this rich universe through rehearsal photos and videos, interviews with members of the creative team, and the choreographer’s own remarks.

A little more on Virginie Brunelle

Photo © Sasha Onyshchenko/www.sashaonyshchenko.com

A behind-the-scenes look at the creative process

Producing the kind of large-scale works presented by Danse Danse and major venues around the world doesn’t happen overnight. The lengthy creative process involves research, work in the studio, technical run-throughs … Each step is essential to bringing an artist’s vision, ideas and feelings to life.

The creative process also involves a whole lot of people: dancers, writers, rehearsal directors, sound designers, lighting designers, costume designers … Let us introduce you to this backstage world!

More than 400 hours of preparation can go into a single one hour work for public performance.

The various stages of the creative process are described below. Join us as we unveil and explore the creative world of dance through the Créateur en Mouvement platform!

 

RESEARCH

Researching a new contemporary dance work is a special experience for the choreographer and the creative team. During this stage, the team tries out different ideas, experiments with various dance moves and how they work in the performance space, and researches the theme of the piece.

 

CREATION

This is the stage when the choreographer has to make decisions-and that's not always easy! Selecting the elements that will make up the final work can be instinctive, or it can be agonizing. At this point, the choreographer collaborates with other artists to develop the work: set designer, lighting designer, sound designer, rehearsal director, technical director, etc.

 

PERFORMANCE

This is the stage when the choreographer and the creative team share their work with the public. A few days before the show opens, the company moves into the theatre and sets up the technical framework of the show-sets, lights, props, and other elements-and rehearses on stage. During the run, a technical crew is on hand to ensure that every performance runs smoothly.

 

TOURING

Going on tour is a magical moment, as the entire team travels to present the show to other communities and new audiences. Besides extending the run of a show, touring plays an important part in the artists' professional development and helps build connections among artists, companies and audiences at home and abroad.

1
1

Stop by our Instagram!

Visit our Instagram

Créateur en Mouvement
Programme de Danse Danse

Créateur en Mouvement est un programme de Danse Danse mis en place pour appuyer la création d’œuvres chorégraphiques contemporaines. Via sa plateforme web, les dessous des créations d’artistes soutenus sont partagés auprès du grand public.

Par l’entremise de Créateur en Mouvement, Danse Danse souhaite offrir à tous la chance d’entrer dans l’univers de la recherche et de la création, de suivre en direct l’évolution d’un spectacle et de vivre la danse autrement.

Créateur en lumière
Virginie Brunelle

En 2017-2018, Créateur en Mouvement dédie sa plateforme à la chorégraphe en pleine ascension Virginie Brunelle. Virginie est invitée à créer une pièce pour la compagnie internationale Gauthier Dance//Dance Company Theaterhaus Stuttgart, basée à Stuttgart en Allemagne et dirigée par le québécois Éric Gauthier.

Il s’agit d’une double première expérience pour cette artiste québécoise : première pièce diffusée au Théâtre Maisonneuve de la Place des Arts, et première commande artistique provenant, de surcroît, d’une compagnie internationale.

La pièce fera partie d’une soirée composée et rayonnera aux côtés d’œuvres de chorégraphes internationaux. Le spectacle sera présenté en première mondiale au Theaterhaus Stuttgart le 13 juillet 2018 suivi d’une première montréalaise à Danse Danse le 31 octobre 2018. Des tournées québécoise, canadienne et internationale sont en développement.

Via la plateforme Créateur en Mouvement, vous pourrez suivre la création de ce spectacle : des coulisses jusqu’à sa tournée canadienne. Découvrez tout cet univers à travers des vidéos et photos en studio de répétition, des entrevues avec les membres de l’équipe et des réflexions de la chorégraphe.

Un peu plus sur Virginie Brunelle

Photo © Sasha Onyshchenko/www.sashaonyshchenko.com

Les dessous de la création

Pour en arriver à des spectacles à grand déploiement tels que présentés à Danse Danse et sur les grandes scènes du monde, il y a tout un travail en amont : de la recherche, du travail de studio, des essais techniques, … Ces étapes sont incontournables afin de mettre en mouvement une vision, des idées et des émotions.

Le processus de création requiert également l’intervention d’une multitude d’intervenants : danseurs, dramaturges, répétiteurs, concepteur sonore, concepteur d’éclairages, de costumes… Ce monde de l’ombre vous sera dévoilé !

Plus de 400 heures sont consacrées à la création pour finalement n’en retenir qu’une seule, soit la meilleure création pour le public.

Nous avons décortiqué pour vous toutes les étapes afin que vous puissiez vous immiscer dans l’univers des créateurs via la plateforme Créateur en mouvement.

 

RECHERCHE

La recherche en danse contemporaine est un moment privilégié entre le chorégraphe et ses collaborateurs. C’est le moment où l’équipe prend le temps de faire des essais, d’explorer les mouvements de danse, l’espace de la scène et faire de la recherche sur son thème de création.

 

CRÉATION

C’est le moment où le créateur doit prendre des décisions ! Et ce n’est pas toujours facile. Le processus et les choix peuvent-être parfois très instinctifs comme déchirants. À cette étape, plusieurs collaborateurs peuvent venir appuyer le chorégraphe dans l’élaboration du spectacle : scénographe, éclairagiste, compositeur sonore, répétiteur, directeur technique, etc…

 

SPECTACLE

Le spectacle c’est le moment où le chorégraphe et son équipe partage son œuvre avec le public. Avant la première, l’équipe fait son entrée au théâtre et procède au montage technique de la pièce en installant les éclairages, le décor, les accessoires, et autres éléments du spectacle. Plusieurs travailleurs sont présents pour s’assurer du bon déroulement du spectacle.

 

TOURNÉE

Partir en tournée est un moment magique où toute l’équipe se déplace pour faire rayonner l’œuvre sur d’autres territoires et faire découvrir l’œuvre à divers publics. En plus de prolonger la vie du spectacle, la tournée permet le développement professionnel des artistes et aide à bâtir des relations pancanadiennes et internationales.

1
1

Faites un tour sur notre Instagram

Visitez notre Instagram